You are here:
  • Home
  • Languages
  • Telugu


Telugu (తెలుగుis a Dravidian language spoken by people predominantly living in the Indian states of Andhra PradeshTelangana and Yanam district of PuducherryIndia, where it is also the official language. It stands alongside Hindi and Bengali as one of the few languages with primary official language status in more than one Indian state.

Telugu ranks fourth among the languages with the highest number of native speakers in India, with nearly 82 million speakers as per the 2011 census and 15th in the Ethnologue list of languages by number of native speakers. It is the most widely spoken member of the Dravidian language family and one of the twenty-two scheduled languages of the Republic of India.

We are proud to ptovide Telugu interpreting services.


There are three major dialects, namely, the Coastal dialect spoken in the Coastal Andhra region of Andhra Pradesh, the Rayalaseema dialect spoken in the four Rayalaseema districts of Andhra Pradesh and the Telangana dialect spoken mainly in the state of Telangana.

WaddarChenchu, and Manna-Dora are all closely related to Telugu. Other dialects of Telugu are Berad, Dasari, Dommara, Golari, Kamathi, Komtao, Konda-Reddi, Salewari, Vadaga, Srikakula, Vishakhapatnam, East Godaveri, Rayalseema, Nellore, Guntur, Vadari and Yanadi. In Sri Lanka, an ethnic gypsy minority known as the Ahikuntakas (otherwise called Kuravars) in the Batticaloa district speak a localised dialect in the form of Sri Lanka Gypsy Telugu.